Opposition Shows Rare Unity In Parliament, Yet Government Stays Cagey On China Clash


Opposition Shows Rare Unity In Parliament, Yet Government Stays Cagey On China Clash

New Delhi:
More than a dozen opposition parties attended a strategy meeting called by Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharg; And later the synce walked out due to the government’s refusal to discuss the Indo-China conflict.

Here are 10 key facts that tell the story:

  1. Opposition unity was again on display in Parliament as the Aam Aadmi Party and the Telangana Rashtra Samithi attended a strategy meeting called by Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, leader of opposition in the Rajya Sabha, on how to force the government to discuss the recent India-China border skirmish, in Arunachal Pradesh, in Parliament.

  2. The Bengal Trinamool Congress later participated in a walkout with 18 parties present in the meeting to protest the chairpersons’ refusal to allow discussions on the Tawang conflict.

  3. Congress MPs were led by Sonia Gandhi Outside the Lok Sabha — Trinamool MLAs also staged a walkout — after the Speaker did not accept another request to discuss the “India-China border situation”. The Congress even argued that during the Sino-Indian War in 1962, the then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru had allowed discussion in the Lok Sabha.

  4. Speaker Om Birla cited procedure – saying a decision would be taken by Parliament’s business advisory committee – and went ahead with routine proceedings, where the opposition walked out in a rare show of unity.

  5. before, At the beginning of the winter sessionThe AAP and the Trinamool Congress, usually reluctant to play ball with the Congress, attended a strategy meeting of “like-minded opposition parties” called by Mr Kharge.

  6. Participants in both meetings included left parties CPI and CPM, RJD and JDU in Bihar, SP and RLD in Uttar Pradesh, NCP and Shiv Sena (Uddhav Thackeray’s party) in Maharashtra and National Conference in Jammu and Kashmir.

  7. The three Congress-led opposition parties – TRS, AAP and Trinamool – have announced their national ambitions ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. So it is a tough call for them to work together with the Congress in Parliament.

  8. Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has renamed the TRS party to Bharat Rashtra Samiti, with only a few formalities pending. He even met other leaders like his Bihar counterpart, Nitish Kumar of the JDU. On the Congress side, Rahul Gandhi, in his Bharat Joro Yatra, also attacked the TRS government.

  9. Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress has publicly slammed the Congress for “taking us for granted”, with clear ambitions to project AAP 2024 as a battle between Arvind Kejriwal and Narendra Modi.

  10. Today, several internal efforts by MPs from Congress, NCP and other parties yielded no results as the government refused to engage beyond a brief statement by Defense Minister Rajnath Singh. The session will begin on December 7 and continue till the 29th.

Featured video of the day

Video: Traffic cop dragged 4km on top of car bonnet


Watch More!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might like

© 2023 Msi Gaming - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner